Words Don’t Flow


It’s been so very long since I wrote a song,
I was young and naïve, an apprentice to life
had a lot to figure out,
but through all the confusion,
through the ups and downs
I didn’t accept defeat, didn’t retreat
But now my words are stuck on repeat
I can’t find the rhythm to my beat
It seems I keep hitting all the wrong notes
every time I try it somehow feels incomplete
even when I know it’s right up my street
I just don’t feel up to it.

Words don’t flow
Oh the words just don’t flow from my heart anymore

My thoughts are a tangled mess,
I’m confused I confess.,
lost in an imaginary space in my head
The night sky is illuminated by city lights
I see people moving around
I hear sounds in the background
But nothing’s clear despite how bright and loud it is
my mind’s racing , trying to think
of ways to relate to this world
this life, the struggle, the strife
the when’s, what’s and why’s…

Words don’t flow
Oh the words just don’t flow from my heart anymore

I know this feeling all too well
And I know this is the journey,
the journey I got to make
yet I don’t know which path to take…
I’ve had enough confusion, enough lies,
enough putting-on-the-tough girl-act
ain’t gonna let it get to me no more,
Time to get out of it and be sure,
of myself and everything I stand for.

I’ll figure out a way to make the words flow
Just the way they used to.
Words will flow
Oh the words will flow from my heart
like they used to.

* * *

Disclaimer : This is not how I’m feeling right now. In fact this isn’t me. At all. Yes I do have my weak moments and sometimes even pity parties (wait did I just say that out loud? 🙊 pretend you didn’t hear me) but I’m not usually one for expressing my feelings and then somehow magically feeling good about stuff. Because honestly venting my frustrations only makes me more anxious. That actually puts me in a pretty good position because then I’m compelled to figure things out myself and deal with and get over crappy situations on my own without feeling the need to involve another person and further add to the anxiety.. Alhumdulillah. 🙂

Anyway so it’s been almost a month since my last post. It’s such a shame, I know. I had thought of writing a blog on comparative religion but couldn’t get around to it due to stuff. But you wouldn’t believe how many unfinished poems I have in my drafts! And guess what? I’m going to try to complete all of them and post them here before Ramadan insha’Allah!

May Allah سبحانه و تعالى grant us the ability and guide us to do maximum ibadah solely seeking His Pleasure in the blessed month of Ramadan and throughout the year. Ameen.

Remember me in your duas! ❤

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Did you say something? Because I didn’t here you.Haha XD
    Yeah we miss how you used to post frequently. 😦 But I think everyone isn’t as active as they used to be. 😛
    Ohhh Ramadan is right around the corner! ❤ Can't wait to read more from you sis Yusra! ❤
    Ameen to all your duas. ❤ It is Friday! Don't forget to recite Surah Kahf and remember me in your prayers. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to share your thoughts! (:

