Dhikr


I remember making a certain dua a lot when I was small, the dua was

“O Allah, keep my tongue moist with your remembrance”

I probably learned it from my mum. I don’t know the wordings of it in Arabic cause I would always read it in English. And I also don’t know if the dua is from the sunnah or not (I will look it up at the end of this post insha’Allah)

But what reminded me of the dua was an amazing realization that struck me yesterday. And because I don’t keep a journal (cause at times I don’t understand my own handwriting) I thought I’d write it down here. I’m just going to pour out my thoughts, unfiltered, so be kind enough to excuse any grammatical errors (I’ll take care of the typos, I mean, auto correct will).

So back to the topic, I don’t know how many of you are aware of Hindu festivals, I wouldn’t be surprised if none of you are. But anyway, in the past two weeks they had a festival, I’ll skip the details cause it doesn’t concern us..As a part of their celebrations they set up huge, and I mean HUGE music systems at a distance of every 200 meters which they used for playing their religious songs/hymns from morning till night. I really don’t know how to explain how it felt having no choice but to listen to it all day, literally everywhere I went because they were all over the city.

It’s a blessing that I don’t understand the language the hymns were in, so it was kinda easier to ignore them but when you listen to something over and over it ends up getting stuck in your head which is very frustrating. So yesterday in the evening when I was home busy doing something I could hear it, inwardly cursing the fact that it was a lot louder at the time since it was the last day of their festival. But here’s the best part!…It suddenly struck me that perhaps doing some dhikr would help block out the sounds. So I did that. And Subhan’Allah it not only helped distract my mind but it also made me realize the importance of doing dhikr and how wonderful it feels!! I also realized how easily we tend to forget to do dhikr.

Most of us are aware of the many verses in the Quran that talk about the significance of rembering Allah Ta’aala:

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا اذْكُرُوا اللَّهَ ذِكْرًا كَثِيرًا

“O you who believe! Remember Allah with much remembrance.” (33:41)

الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا وَتَطْمَئِنُّ قُلُوبُهُمْ بِذِكْرِ اللَّهِ ۗ أَلَا بِذِكْرِ اللَّهِ تَطْمَئِنُّ الْقُلُوبُ

Those who believe (in the Oneness of Allah – Islamic Monotheism), and whose hearts find rest in the remembrance of Allah, Verily, in the remembrance of Allah do hearts find rest. (13:28)

Worship for us has become something monotonous done as a part of our daily routine. It’s been reduced to praying five times a day (it’s very sad that sometimes we don’t even pray on time or skip prayers due to work or other stuff). We get so caught up in wordly activities, in living our present life that we easily forget the afterlife. It’s not even there in the back of our minds. Instead our minds are literally filled with thoughts about trivial things like what dress to wear to school or work or trying to come up with new ideas to spend the weekend, places to visit and stuff like that. I hate to admit it but Satan’s doing an amazing job at distracting us from our real purpose in life. 😔

Remember what’s been mentioned in the Quran about Satan’s resolve to tempt mankind?

قَالَ رَبِّ بِمَا أَغْوَيْتَنِي لَأُزَيِّنَنَّ لَهُمْ فِي الْأَرْضِ وَلَأُغْوِيَنَّهُمْ أَجْمَعِينَ

[Iblis (Satan)] said: “O my Lord! Because you misled me, I shall indeed adorn the path of error for them (mankind) on the earth, and I shall mislead them all. (15:39)

ثُمَّ لَآتِيَنَّهُمْ مِنْ بَيْنِ أَيْدِيهِمْ وَمِنْ خَلْفِهِمْ وَعَنْ أَيْمَانِهِمْ وَعَنْ شَمَائِلِهِمْ ۖ وَلَا تَجِدُ أَكْثَرَهُمْ شَاكِرِينَ

Then I will come to them from before them and behind them, from their right and from their left, and You will not find most of them as thankful ones (i.e. they will not be dutiful to You).” (7:17)

Misleading mankind is his primary goal till the end of time. So whenever we find ourselves giving in to temptations, we should know that it is Satan that’s trying to lead us astray. Therefore we should immediately seek refuge in Allah,

وَإِمَّا يَنْزَغَنَّكَ مِنَ الشَّيْطَانِ نَزْغٌ فَاسْتَعِذْ بِاللَّهِ ۚ إِنَّهُ سَمِيعٌ عَلِيمٌ

And if an evil whisper comes to you from Shaitan (Satan) then seek refuge with Allah. Verily, He is All-Hearer, All-Knower. (7:200)

Also, when Satan said he will mislead mankind, Allah said,

إِنَّ عِبَادِي لَيْسَ لَكَ عَلَيْهِمْ سُلْطَانٌ إِلَّا مَنِ اتَّبَعَكَ مِنَ الْغَاوِينَ

Certainly, you shall have no authority over My slaves, except those who follow you of the Ghawin (Mushrikun and those who go astray, criminals, polytheists, and evil-doers, etc.) (15:42)

This verse gives me hope and comfort, and encourages me to be righteous and strive against evil. When I’m in a spiritual mood of this kind or on a spiritual high as some would say, I get upset with myself for being careless about my religious obligations, for being unconcerned about my akhira, for not even trying to be a good Muslim. But it is in these moments of realization that I feel truly grateful for Islam, for being blessed with eeman. I feel that with just a little more effort we can become better Muslims, stay away from temptations and sinning, and earn reward. Bi ithnillah.

Oh and this the hadith I was talking about earlier,

The Messenger of Allah ( صلى الله عليه وسلم) said, “…Always keep your tongue moist with the remembrance of Allah, the Mighty and Sublime.”

(Sunan Ibn Majah 3793)

The Prophet ( صلى الله عليه وسلم ) has taught us many beautiful duas to be recited in the morning and evening, after prayer, etc. We all should make a habit to recite these duas everyday seeking Allah’s Help, placing our complete trust in Him.

Here’s one of them,

اللَّهُمَّ أَعِنِّيْ عَلَى ذِكْرِكَ وَشُكْرِكَ وَحُسْنِ عِبَادَتِكَ.

O Allah, help me remember You, to be grateful to You, and to worship You in an excellent manner.

Ameen!

Keep me in your prayers. ❤

16 Comments

Add yours →

  1. السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاتة حبيبتي!!!
    ما شاء الله excellent post!!
    Absolutely loved it. Infact, just today i was reading this book , “33 Ways of Attaining Khushoo’ in your Salah”. We get so carried away with our daily activities that we inadvertently push our deen to the backseat. And the minute part of our deen that we do follow on a daily basis is lackadaisical and monotonous and hasty, incomplete, half-hearted.
    I “used” to be really concerned about my actions once upon a time الحمد لله and so far, I feel that couple of years were my best years in terms of being a good Muslim. Now, I’m yearning to get back to that state إن شاء الله .
    You are always in my prayers الحمد لله. You too remember me in yours.
    بارك الله فيك!! أحبك في الله 🌹❤💕😘🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    • وعليكم السلام ورحمة الله وبركاته أختيييييي!!
      Thank you sooo much for the lovely comment! Isn’t it strange how we all go through similar experiences…I mean in terms of spirituality, like we all come to a point in our lives when we realize that we’re not doing enough and miss the time when we were on a higher level of eeman and yearn to go back to it. Subhan’Allah it’s so true that worship is what really unites us. We all are slaves of Allah and our primary purpose in life is to worship Him, we really need to understand this.
      You’re alwaaaaaays in my prayers too! Insha’Allah 😊
      May Allah Ta’aala always keep you in a state of ever-increasing and high eeman and grant you goodness in this life and the Hereafter. Ameen!
      Ahabbakal lathi ahbabtani lahu!💗💗💗
      Lots of loveee and duas habibtiii! 😘❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MaShaAllah, your post has touched my heart. I often forget the importance of dhikr too. We are always wrapped up in other matters of life. But your reminder has helped me to reconsider my priorities. JazakAllah Khair dear sister.💗

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words ukthi! I’m glad it helped.💖 Doing dhikr is one of the easiest ways to earn reward, plus it has so many benefits…yet it’s something most of us struggle with. May Allah help us.
      Wa anti fa jazakumullahu khairan! Thanks for reading dear sis! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. MashaAllah,
    Very useful article.
    Jazakallahu khairan

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m so happy you shared this with us. ❤ It really feels good to read this!
    Festival or no festival sadly music is everywhere. 😦 This post was such a good reminder that there is always something that we can do.
    Hey we also read this dua after eating. 😉 It's beautiful!
    Remember me in your prayers as well.Hope you're well! And belated Eid mubarak ya ukhti! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sweetttt, I enjoyed the break down… and yeah no one is perfect we all struggle with eeman. I guess that should humble us…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. iA i will read from now onwards

    Like

Feel free to share your thoughts! (:

