The Puny Human Mind


Assalamualaikum! Hope you guys are doing good!

So like I promised this post is on Comparative Religion, but before I start I’d like to add a disclaimer that I’m not an expert on this topic and whatever I say is just from the lil research I managed to do (I’ve tried to give references wherever possible). So if you think something I say is wrong feel free to correct me.

This is about a discussion I once had with a Christian friend on the trinity. We already know that the trinity is the central belief of Christianity and every Christian (with the exception of a few denominations) believes in it. I agree I haven’t read much on this topic but I’ve had quite a few discussions on it with people over the past few years but none have been able to explain it so far, every person has their own version of what it is.

As a side note, I think while doing dawah it is extremely important to be careful of what we say and the methods we apply because often times our intentions are good but the way we go about calling people to Islam is incorrect which sometimes results in pushing them further away from Islam. So we should avoid going to extremes. Our duty is to only present the message of Islam to them and not try to prove a point or win an argument. I learned it the hard way but hey, we learn from our mistakes, right?

So anyway I was talking to my friend and something she said at some point in the discussion really stood out to me. She said,

“How can the puny human mind fully comprehend God?”

It made sense tbh. How can we comprehend God Almighty, The Creator of the entire universe, of everything that exists in the world, of which we’re merely a tiny little part?

But regardless, that certainly should not be used as an excuse to not know God Almighty. Because if we don’t know God and what He commands us to do and the ways in which we should worship Him then how are we gonna worship Him correctly?

Allah Ta’aala Says in the Qur’an,
《 وَلَا يُحِيطُونَ بِشَيْءٍ مِنْ عِلْمِهِ إِلَّا بِمَا شَاءَ》
“And they will never compass anything of His Knowledge except that which He wills.” (Surah Al-Baqarah 2:255)

Scholars have said that “This part of the Ayah indicates that no one ever acquires knowledge of Allah and His Attributes, except what He conveys to them.” (Tafsir Ibn Kathir)

“Neither can imagination conceive of Him nor can understanding fathom Him.” (Aqeedatut Tahawiyyah, p41)

So it’s true, like my friend said, that we cannot fully comprehend God. We can never truly understand the true extent of Allah’s Might and Power and His Divine Nature. Simply because it is way beyond the reach of our minds. Even the Prophet ( صلى الله عليه وسلم ) warned us against dwelling on thoughts that we cannot grasp.

Abu Hurayrah (رضي الله عنه) related that Allaah’s Messenger (صلى الله عليه وسلم) said, “Satan will come to everyone of you and ask: Who created this and that?—until he questions: Who created your Lord? When he comes to that, one should seek refuge in Allaah [say: I affirm my faith in Allaah and His prophets] and avoid [such thoughts].”

Key phrase: “avoid such thoughts”

The human mind is limited and it is impossible for it to understand the Creator who is eternal and infinite and cannot be understood in terms of material existence. Therefore intentionally delving into matters of the unseen, trying to unveil mysteries of the Divine, and believing we are somehow miraculously capable of it is what the Prophet ( صلى الله عليه وسلم) warned us against. But this does not in any way mean that there is zero possibility of knowing God because Allah سبحانه و تعالى Himself revealed to man some of His Attributes through the Qur’an so that we may worship Him correctly and not associate any partners with Him.

《 وَمَا يُؤْمِنُ أَكْثَرُهُمْ بِاللَّهِ إِلَّا وَهُمْ مُشْرِكُونَ》
“And most of them believe not in Allah except that they attribute partners unto Him [i.e. they are Mushrikun -polytheists]”
(Surah Ta-Ha 12:106)

Not understanding God could result in confusing His Attributes with those of creation which might thereby lead to deification of creation. An example is Christianity.

The Qur’an states,

《لَيْسَ كَمِثْلِهِ شَيْء》
“…there is nothing like unto Him…
( Surah Ash-Shura 42:11)

There are many such verses in the Qur’an that give us an idea of the Divine Attributes of Allah. It is essential for our faith that we affirm and understand these Attributes as they are and not give them additional meanings.

So yeah I guess that’s about it. Hope you liked reading this. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this topic and as always your comments and any feedback will be appreciated. 😊

May Allah سبحانه و تعالى keep us steadfast on His Deen. Ameen.

Remember me in your duas! Fi Amanillah  ❤

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Waalaikumasalam warahmatuallah!
    MashaAllah you really put in effort for this post.Thank you.
    Ameen!
    And remmeber me in your prayers as well. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته حبيبتي!!
    I loved how this post was so simple yet it speaks such great words mashaAllah!! I mean, it is very important for us to know Allah , but also to know our limits. If we try to push our mind more than its capacity we may get deviated naoozubillah. But at the same time, we should not stay oblivious about our Creator. We should expend our time and energy getting to know about Allah ‘azza wa jal what He and RasoolAllah have taught us. InshaAllah.
    Jazakumullahu khairan! Allahumma baarik laki ❤💖❤💖❤😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wa’alakumussalaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuhu
      Aww thank you soo much for the kind words habbibtii! 😊 I’m so glad that you liked it!! I really hope to write this kinda stuff more often insha’Allah! May Allah سبحانه و تعالى grant us the correct understanding of the Deen and keep us steadfast on Islam. Ameen.
      Wa anti fa jazakumullahu khairan ukhtiiiii! Wa feekum barakAllah! Sending you lots of love & duas! Alhumdulillah ❤❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ok I will be honest, when I started reading this post, I was like, oh shh oh shh ohh noo, then somewhere in the middle it was hmmmm, and then later back to ohh no ohh noo and ended in hmmm again.

    Ohh shh is because I honestly don’t think anyone who hasn’t done enough research should write about comparative religion, because as you mentioned it can make things worse than better.

    Imagine if a Christian is reading this post, how would they feel? Would they be drawn closer to Islam or pushed away?

    Words like “they” “justify” “irrational” “never make sense” … these give off a more judgmental vibe than an objective comparison.

    Other than that, yeah how far should some one go in trying to understand God? And how much is enough?…

    Pretty interesting

    Liked by 1 person

    • Umm I guess you’re right…but I’m not being judgemental of anyone. The only reason I write on these topics is because I think it’s important to discuss the scriptures…um it is important right? Because there are inconsistencies within the Bible, but do you think they talk about it in the church? No obviously not… I don’t know if reading this would draw them closer to Islam or not, but it might at least help them question the credibility of their beliefs?…I don’t know, do you think it’s wrong?

      Liked by 1 person

      • If they read this I believe it would push them further away. See you are still talking in the “us vs them” kinda tone so no, it wouldn’t help.

        I believe if a Christian read this they would feel insulted, because it is not an objective comparison. Yes I think it is wrong.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I get what you’re saying, maybe I should’ve chosen my words more carefully…

          I’ll keep that in mind next time insha’Allah and try to present facts as objectively as possible…and as for this post, I’ll make the necessary changes insha’Allah. Jazak Allah khair

          Liked by 1 person

Feel free to share your thoughts! (:

