Still In the Game


image

All my life
I’ve played hide-and-seek
With myself
Every moment, every day
Trying to be someone I’m not
Never knowing what I wanted
Never knowing who I really was.
I never truly found myself.
To this day.

If I get a chance to play again
I will change the game forever
This I promise
It wouldn’t be hide-and-seek anymore
I’d rather play chase
And bring ’em all down
Those things responsible for my weakness
Self doubt, distrust and lack of confidence
Till I overcome all hurdles
I will never stop playing
If only I get a chance to play again

**

I’m sure every one of us has played hide-and-seek when we were kids. Remember the excitement of finding the best hiding places, the happiness of being safe, on not being the first one to be found? The brief moment when we’re “hiding” we get a kind of satisfaction; we feel pleased with ourselves. Obviously because we are winning at the game as long as we’re “hidden”.

But if we look at our lives, we’re doing exactly the same thing and surprisingly enough we seem to be pleased with hiding our true selves from the world. I wonder if we are even hiding from ourselves. When we try to fit in with the outside world we easily ignore the discomfort we feel inside, but the more we ponder on our lives the more aware we become of the internal conflict we face every single day. 

Why can’t we be ourselves?

What are we afraid of?

No matter what we do, how we do it, when we do it there will be people who will judge. But we should remember one thing that regardless of what people say our actions are for ourselves. Their criticisms should not bring us down, nor should we change ourselves just because they think we’re wrong. As long as we’re doing what is right and are on the Straight path we should not fear the criticisms of people.

It is delusional to think that by hiding ourselves from people we will be good in their eyes. Who we are is our identity. We should not let people dictate our lives.

The way you think, the way you look, the way you talk, is who you are. Don’t try to change for people, you don’t need to be a people pleaser to survive in this world. What you need is to please Allah. We all are in desperate need of Allah’s Approval, His Pleasure. There is nothing in this world that compares to the extreme importance and the urgent necessity of worshipping Allah to the best of our ability. There is no happiness more real and genuine than what is attained through sincere worship.

Don’t let people’s opinions make you doubt your abilities. Don’t let anything get you down. Learn to trust yourself and never ever give up trying. Remember you’re still in the game, the only difference is that you gotta make your own rules.

P.S I know it’s been so long since I’ve posted something really worth reading that I’m beginning to wonder just what has happened to my writing. Wait, what? Did you just say this was good? Whoa. I thought I must have heard you wrong. Are you sure? 😄 Haha seriously though do let me know what you think.

Oh and I remember being tagged for a challenge and an award. Is it too late to do them now? I mean it was like a month ago, but I don’t think that would be a problem? So yeah I’ll try doing them soon insha’Allah, not making any promises. 😋

Do remember me in your duas! 💗

10 thoughts on “Still In the Game

  1. Enjoyed this: “…Obviously because we are winning at the game as long as we’re “hidden”.”

    Actually to some extent this is a good thing. One should always be open and true with ones own self BUT not so open with others… keeps you from harm as not everyone can be trusted!

    I am learning to be “hidden” it is hard at first but gradually feels OK and good too.
    My inner and outward behaviour would and has been in sync for a long time but realised certain circumstances actually require one to change that balance for Allah’s Sake.

    Once you truely love and obey Allah internally noone can take that away unless Allah Wills it. If it has to be hidden so be it. It may seems as if others are forcing you to be something you are not… but no one actually can.

    So sometimes others or circumstances do “outwardly” dictate our lives…but we can choose to dictate our intentions, inner being and behaviour to please Allah. Nothing and nobody else can be an excuse for our own shortcomings in this.

    In the end, I believe it must boil down to self preservation for your own Akhira be it open or hidden with no internal conflict.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you sister Rubina! Its nice to have you comment, I’m glad you enjoyed it. 😊 I totally agree with you. Our Akhira is what matters most and we should do everything in our capability to work towards improving it, and always try to keep our intentions pure for the sake of Allah.

      The point of this post, however, was that very often we’re faced with the dilemma of trying to fit in and adjust to the society by compromising our Deen or remain steadfast and endure people’s criticisms. Some of us find it hard to even say “no” to people in fear of hurting them so we easily give in without even trying. And eventually we tend to forget our true (Muslim) identities especially if we’re living in non-Muslim societies. But like you said if we truly love and obey Allah, and be firm internally there’s nothing or noone that can negatively influence us. We should make an effort to make His Pleasure our top most priority by constantly asking for forgiveness and guidance.

      Jazak Allah khair for your insightful comment sis! May Allah سبحانه و تعالى keep us all steadfast. Ameen. ❤

      Like

  2. Dun dun dun… and Yusra returns! It HAS been long sistah! Hope you were okay 🙂
    I loved the concept. And the poem obviously 😀 it’s so true. Yes. Yes. Yes. We need to please Allah first. Need to remind myself again and again.
    Pray for me too 💞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you Revels! Your comments always bring a smile to my face. I’m serious, I mean it. 😊 I know it has been long. 😳 Forgive me? Haha 😁 I’m really glad you like the poem. Jazak Allah khair. Insha’Allah I’ll keep you in my prayers! 💗

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed this post it’s motivating and relatable. I struggle so much with a lack of confidence and it’s one of the biggest and toughest things I’m trying to work on right now and this post just makes me feel that I’m not alone and that I must always remember to focus on pleasing Allah and not worry about what others might think =). Thanks for sharing this lovely post and of course the poem was beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your kind words sister! I’m really glad you enjoyed it. 😊

      I know it’s sad how easily we compromise our principles just to fit in and not stand out from the rest. But it really helps to constantly remind ourselves of our purpose on earth and that this life is just a test, think about the Hereafter and accountability and always seek forgiveness and guidance from Allah. May Allah سبحانه و تعالى guide us all and keep us steadfast on His Deen! Ameen.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Jazak Allah khair ukhti! 💗

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to share your thoughts! (:

