A Heart’s Soul


Guarded by firm walls
Built with relentless courage,
Courage that is grown
From constant struggle against adversity,
Lies the brave heart of a kind soul;
Uncompromising, unyielding,
Unaware;
Unaware of the love it secures,
The compassion that courses through it,
The concern intrinsic to it.
As the guard is let down
It’s not erratic thumping that’s heard
Anymore, but lyrical heartbeats.

***

We often go out of our way to not let our guard down. It’s good to have self-control, but too much of it can restrict our freedom. I’m not saying we should wear our hearts on our sleeves 24/7 but sometimes the best thing that we can possibly do is to let our emotions show; not to the world, but the people we trust.

On the contrary, when we build walls, we’re telling ourselves that we don’t need to feel a certain way and that we’ll be better off without it.

But this doesn’t always work because feelings come to us naturally; it’s not like we force ourselves to feel (while thoughts can be deliberated).

The heart is not just a part of our physical body but even our spiritual self.

It is not just associated with emotion but is in control of our intentions and reasoning too.

According to Wabisah bin Ma’bad رضي الله عنه who said:

I came to the Messenger of Allah صلى الله عليه وسلم and he said: “You have come to ask about righteousness ?” ” Yes,” I answered. He said: “Consult your heart. Righteousness is that about which the soul feels tranquil and the heart feels tranquil, and sin is what creates restlessness in the soul and moves to and fro in the chest, even though people give you their opinion (in your favour) and continue to do so.”

Do remember me in your du’as! 💗

Wassalaam.

2015-10-01 00.15.12

 

50 thoughts on “A Heart’s Soul

    1. A wee patch? Do you mean a lawn or something? I’m not sure I understand 😳 Lol!
      Regarding being unemotional, I think everybody has the capability to feel and experience emotion. We’ve been created that way. It’s just that some of us find it difficult to express our feelings so we kinda hold ourselves back, outwardly appearing as impassive. But in reality we’re just bottling up all our feelings. I’ve observed that people who claim to be emotionless are rather very thoughtful and kind. 😊
      Thanks for reading. 💗

      Liked by 2 people

          1. Oh and I have something which might make you happy haha.
            My sister likes to read my blog and then she went on to yours and (she doesn’t have a blog) she absolutely LOVED it! She won’t stop going on and on about how amazing a writer you are and how lovely your blog is. I figured I’d tell you 😁💞

            Liked by 1 person

                1. Oh and also please do tell her a big Thank You from me!!! I really appreciate her kindness. It didn’t just make me happy it made veeeeeery happy! 😊 Alhumdulillah! Jazakumullahu khairan sisters! 💗💗

                  Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so true and to be honest, that’s one of the reasons why I’m sort of selective in choosing friends. I don’t easily express my true feelings unless I can make myself trust that person first. And whenever I’m meeting someone for the first time or its an acquaintance I prefer to talk less than try to be overly congenial. 😅 As a matter of fact that’s the correct way of going about things, however the point I’m trying to make in this post is that if we try to act all tough and indifferent all the time, it somehow overshadows our true feelings to such an extent that we subconsciously start holding them back even in situations when we should be expressing ourselves. We should at least acknowledge our feelings in our heads, denying doesn’t help.
      Trusting in Allah سبحانه و تعالى is the most important thing, and you’re so right if that’s in place no one can harm us insha’Allah. Jazak Allah khair for reading ukhti! 💗

      Liked by 3 people

      1. WA iyyaki! I totally agree. Everyone I get to know always tell me that they were a little intimidating before they know me. I still don’t know why. My cousins tell me it’s a vibe I give off. One of my best friends told me she was always afraid to speak to me but when she did it was like I was a whole different person. But hey, I can’t help it. I try to smile more if it helps lol.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hahaha I can relate sis! Especially with the guys. All of my cousin brothers most of whom are older than me think twice before talking to me lol. It’s hilarious! 😄

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Assalamualaikum wr wb sister!
      That’s very kind of you! It’s always a pleasure to have a comment from you. اللَّهُـمَّ بارك لكم. Jazak Allah khair habibti 💗

      Like

  1. Salam Alaykum ukhti fillah,
    Very interesting post. I totally agree with you, we should let our sensitivity shine, Especially with people we trust. It is easy to say but not to do, of course…
    Your post reminds me of a quote but I don’t know from who: “Sometimes people put up walls Not to keep others out but to see who cares enough to break them down.” I think it is true, we’ve been told since we are young to be modest and shy so it is not easy for us to express our feelings. We are afraid to expose ourself and to be hurt, but I think it’s more hurtful for ourselves to reject our emotions as you said. you are so right, we should let our heart express itself (is this sentence english? Haha).
    May Allah guide us my sweet sister ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wa’alaikumussalaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuhu dear sister!
      Thank you for your beautiful thoughts! 💗 I love the quote!  It’s a blessing to have such people in our lives who actually understand us and care about our well-being.
      You’re so right, sometimes we prefer not to let our emotions show out of modesty. And in fact that’s good if our intention is to please Allah سبحانه و تعالى. But we should accept our true feelings and not push them away. Letting people know depends on how much we trust them.
      Ameen to your dua sister! Jazak Allah khair.
      Wow! Your statement “We should let our heart express itself” is so true! And you phrased it sooo beautifully.  اللهم بارك لكم.

      May Allah سبحانه و تعالى bless you habibti! Ameen. ❤

      Like

      1. Ameen ya ukthi l3aziza ❤️
        Really? I wasn’t sure if the way I phrased this statement was english so I’m glad 🙂
        I just love your words, even your comments are so well written. You seem so sensitive and kind, that is why your writings are really touching.
        You may be seeking sincerity towards Allah but towards us, you give all your sincerity masha’Allah, so barak’Allah feeki. Always a pleasure to read you.
        Wa salam

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Subhan’Allah. For some reason reading your comment brought tears to my eyes. I mean, the thing I struggle with most is that we know how important it is to be a good Muslim, to fulfill all our obligations and to strive to attain the pleasure of Allah سبحانه و تعالى, yet so many of us fail. Despite possessing the correct knowledge we fail to put it into practice. And that’s why it’s extremely important to keep encouraging one another towards goodness. So thank you for your kind and uplifting words. I’m happy to know that you find me sincere. It makes me realize why I need to be grateful for the blessings Allah  عَزَّ و جل has bestowed upon me and encourages me to work harder to please Him. I pray to Allah سبحانه و تعالى to always help me do the right things and keep my intentions pure. Ameen.
          Thank you so much ukhti. You’re an exceptionally kind person Masha’Allah. اللَّهُـمَّ بارك لك. I love reading your comments because they’re always sooo sweeet! How do you do it? I can certainly say that you’re very kind and loving. Uhibukki fiLlah ya ukhti. May Allah سبحانه و تعالى bless you with lots of happiness both in this life and the next. Ameen! Jazak Allahu khairan sadiqati. شكرا جزيلا!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Wow your comment is so lovely, overflowing with sincerity, like always.
            I truly love reading your words sister. I don’t say such things to be kind, I say what I feel and I’m glad it touches you so deep, I guess it’s because i’m extremely sensitive and you seem to be as well. Alhamdoulillah we have each others, akhawatt fillah to share our feelings in order to feel better. Even if our first confident must be Allah subhanahou wa ta3ala. We are humans and we need each other. So thank you for your words really help me feeling better, it is an incredible pleasure to meet souls similars to our and I’ve got to tell, I don’t have sisters like me in the real life so I was so surprised to metting you all on the internet. I guess our souls fell in love with each others through our writings and our poems don’t lie about us so our sincerities met each others alhamdoulillah,. This doesn’t happen so often if the real life because what we see first is the apparence and what we hear first is the speech Which can be full of lies.
            Sister pleace keep writing & sharing with us.
            I hope we’ll be able to increase our knowledge and our fraternity through our blogs insha’Allah.
            May Allah protect you, and always guide you on His path habibati ❤️
            Uhibukki fillah aydhan ukhty l3aziza.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. What a heart-warming comment! Jazak Allahu khairan ukhti!! You really have a way with words. All your comments feel like music to the ears! Seriously. 😊 Haha Masha’Allah! May Allah سبحانه و تعالى bless you sister. Ameen.

              You’re absolutely right sis, sometimes it’s difficult to find people like us in this world, especially if you’re a practising Muslim. People often judge us for our religiosity, it’s odd 😕. والله أعلم. You must be knowing the hadith about the ghurabaa, right?

              The Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم said: “‏ إِنَّ الإِسْلاَمَ بَدَأَ غَرِيبًا وَسَيَعُودُ غَرِيبًا كَمَا بَدَأَ فَطُوبَى لِلْغُرَبَاءِ ‏”
              Narrated ‘Abdullah bin Mas’ud رضي الله عنه:
              that the Messenger of Allah صلى الله عليه وسلم said: “Indeed Islam began as something strange and it will return to being strange as it began. So Tuba is for the strangers.” (Jami` at-Tirmidhi 2629)
              According to Tafsir Ibn Kathir, Tuba means “something good” or it can even mean Paradise or a tree in Paradise.

              May Allah عَزَّ و جل make us from the righteous and grant us the ability to encourage one another towards goodness and advise against evil and grant us Jannatul Firdous. Ameen! Ahabbakal lathi ahbabtani lahu! ❤❤

              Liked by 1 person

              1. And so do you!
                Ameen ya ukhty.
                Yes I know and love the ghuraba Hadith, it makes me feel confident in front of haters so jazaki Allah khayr for reminding it to me. As you said, it’s really painful to see so many people judging us for what we are, it seems so unfair but as we trust Allah, we are aware that everything happens for a reason alhamdoulillah.
                Thank you a thousand times for your touching poetry makes me feel better, makes me feel understood, and thank you for taking the time to answer to every comment with such lovely words.
                Barak’Allah feeki ya ukhty l3aziza. If I ever travel to India (which is one of my biggest dreams, but not my husband’s sadly haha) I wish to meet you there insha’Allah habibti 😉
                Allah yehmiki ❤️

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Awww I’d looove to have you as my guest! You’re always welcome here habibti; anytime you wanna come. Insha’Allah! 😊💗
                  Yeah that’s very true; everything in life, both ups and downs are a test from Allah عَزَّ و جل aimed at testing our eeman. May Allah سبحانه و تعالى not burden us beyond what we can bear and grant us victory over the disbelievers. Ameen! Thank you so much for your lovely comments! It makes me extremely happy to know that you could benefit from my poetry. All good comes from Allah. It was a pleasure getting to know you sis الحمد لله. ❤
                  Wa anti fa jazakiLlahu khairan ya ukhtil kareema! Remember me in your precious du’as! Wassalaam!

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. Thank you ya ukhty l3aziza. You know, if you continue to write such lovely and deep comments, I won’t stop answering haha
                    Barak’Allah feeki sister, I love your peaceful words. By the way, why don’t you post new poems? I’m waiting 😉
                    Ameen ya rabb to your du3as. ❤️

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. Hahaha I don’t think I’d ever stop replying if you keep writing to me so beautifully. 😉💗 I love your words too!
                      I just haven’t got the time to write anything new. It’s very kind of you to be concerned ya ukhti, I really appreciate it. Jazak Allahu khairan. 💗 I’ll post something really soon insha’Allah! Lots of love habibti. Uhibukki fiLlah. ❤

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. I could say so much, but I’ll say this: Loved it ❤ Beautiful post, totally agree! I find when you're vulnerable with people, people also let their guard down and show you their own flaws, it's really a beautiful thing. Take care sis, and keep writing lovely posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww that’s so sweet of you sister! Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m so glad you like it. 😊
      And yes! I totally agree with you. It’s beautiful to have someone to share your deepest feelings with, to not have to pretend, to just be yourself.
      Jazak Allah khair for your lovely comment sis! May Allah سبحانه و تعالى keep you and your family in His Protection and grant you goodness both in this life and the Hereafter. Ameen.

      You too 💗 and do remember me in your prayers! اللَّهُـمَّ بارك لكم.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re so kind yourself sis, honestly ❤ I'm reading this book right now, it's called "Just Listen" by Mark Goulston, and he talks about this concept that when you "bare" your own neck and are vulnerable enough to share your depths with someone, that other person will also share their depth with you. May Allah swt bless you immensely, accept all your duas, and grant you al firdaus, ameen ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s so sweet of you sis. 💗 Jazak Allah khair. Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts! I got notifications of some new posts from you via email a few days back. Haven’t checked them out yet, but I’m really excited to check out your blog insha’Allah. Will do it once I get time. Oh btw I remember reading one of your poems about your mom going for Hajj. Masha’Allah mabrooook! May Allah سبحانه و تعالى accept her Hajj and reward her immensely both in this world and the Hereafter. 💗 Ameen! اللهم بارك لكم.
          Ameen to your beautiful duas; I pray the same for you! I absolutely love it when we make dua for each other! May Allah bless you habibti! Uhibukki fiLlah. ❤

          Like

          1. Awww, sis you’re such a sweatheart. You’ve got a beautiful heart which is so obvious from your kind words. ❤ May Allah swt bless you immensely, and grant you all your duas, ameen. JazakAllahu Khairan for being so kind. Ameen to all your beautiful duas. Will keep following your blog inshAllah. Xx ❤

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Ameen to your dua! May Allah bless you with much more, accept all your du’as fulfill all your wishes and grant you Jannatul Firdous! Ameen.
              Thanks so much for the kind words sis. You’re amazing! Masha’Allah. Just by reading your comments I feel like we might actually have a lot in common haha! 😉 May Allah Ta’aala bless you. Have an awesome weekend! And please do remember me in your prayers. Insha’Allah I’ll keep you in mine ❤

              Liked by 1 person

              1. I can’t win this comment thing over you eh?! Love and duas your way, and jazakAllahu khairan dear Yusra once again ❤ I feel you, we may really have some common characteristics, just recently discovered your blog, I shall go through it 😀

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Haha! You’ve already won! 😀 I didn’t reply on time which, if we play fair, disqualifies me. 😦 There’s nothing I can do about it now. I admit defeat. 😉 Haha I’m sorry for the late reply sis!
                  Wa anti fa jazakiLlahu khairan! 💗💗

                  Liked by 1 person

Feel free to share your thoughts! (:

