Bring Back Those Lost Smiles


0c5f9ce559474a34464ee8afa34e7c3dI loved it when your eyes twinkled
The way you’d try not to laugh
How the smile would slowly crawl on to your face
Your grin wide enough to show your teeth.

When will you do it again?

Seems ages have passed
Since the last time I saw you smile
It doesn’t feel real anymore
Like you’re putting on a show

The dark circles under your eyes
Give it away
I know you’re not okay
But you try to hide it anyway.

It breaks my heart
To hear you tremble while you speak
As I sense pain in your voice
I wish I knew how to make you smile again

Know that you’re loved
Maybe I don’t express it very often
But I do care
Is that being hypocritical?

***

In this life we come across many people. Some are already a part of our lives and some enter it at different points in time. Be it our cousins, aunties, uncles, neighbors or friends. Whether we’ve met them just once in our entire life or we see them every single day of the week, we develop a kind of an invisible bond with them. Invisible, simply because we cannot see it (I know that’s obvious). But that’s not what I mean. We don’t “see” the bond because we don’t realize it exists. For us, cousins are just the people we have to spend some time with at family get-togethers and neighbors are just people living next door who send iftar food in Ramadan and we do likewise. But obviously since we’re not robots, our little interactions with them are not robotic. We smile at them, greet them, talk and laugh. There are times when we talk for hours, share jokes which crack us up and we laugh together till our stomachs hurt.

Age. Time. Distance.

Whatever it is that’s causing the awkward silence, it’s very little. Why should we let any of that affect our relationships? Why do we even consider them as barriers?

No matter what the barrier is we should at least check on the people in our lives once a week (the really close ones) or twice in a month (the rest). At the very least. If we do it more often it’s even better.

Maybe they’re going through a tough time,

Or they’re feeling lonely,

Or they really need to hear some words of encouragement,

A phone call, a message or a short visit won’t take much of our time or energy. In fact it’s so much easier than we think.

P.S: this poem is dedicated to my mom’s aunt. I call her Nani – grandma.

I pray to Allah ‘azza wa jal to bless her with good health, lots of happiness and a long life spent in the sincere worship of Allah. Ameen.

15 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Good post๐Ÿ˜„๐ŸŽŠ

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful as always MashaAllah. Your poetry cannot simply be read; it must be savoured. I wish I had the words to express just how moving it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sabeelurrashaad 17 May 2015 — 5:48 am

    One of the fundamental aspects of our Deen is joining and maintaining family ties. One sees barakah in ones life when one does so. Rasoolullah s.a.w was very particular about it and exhorted his companions upon the same. So much so that even caring about the friends of one’s parents after their demise is a away of doing good to ones parents . Allah Ta aala sent Rasoolullah s.a.w as a mercy unto mankind so this ummah too should carry out this legacy of being kind and compassionate from ones family right up to the whole of mankind.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re absolutely right. Jazak Allah khair for your valuable input brother. Allahumma baarik lak.

      May Allah Ta’aala grant us the hidaya to maintain all our ties – family, friends, neighbors and always be good to others. Ameen.

      Like

  5. ุณุจุญุงู† ุงู„ู„ู‡
    I found this to be so honest and because of that it was really touching, reading this awoke within me the reality of the bonds we share with individuals in our lives and not to undermine them.
    Every time we meet a person having the opportunity to engage with them even if just for a moment, we should touch their lives with good character, I learnt this from Shaykh Isma’eel Mufti Menk and his lecture ‘Touching Lives’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing what you’ve learned from the Shaykh’s lecture. It sounds interesting. Insha’Allah I’ll try watching it.

      I’m glad you could benefit from the poem. All good comes from Allah. Jazak Allah khair for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. WOOOWW – end quote

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s pretty rare that I read something that makes me feel something…I mean usually when I read things, they just make me think things…but not necessarily feel them. Some how this one makes me feel something (as you might have noticed I have maxed out on the word “thing”) .
    Anyway I can’t describe it, or describing it will take too long. So yeah its nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Subhan’Allah. I’m glad you could somehow benefit from this. May Allah ุณุจุญุงู†ู‡ ูˆ ุชุนุงู„ู‰ make it easy for you, whatever it is. I know you’re staying abroad and haven’t told your family about your faith yet and it must be really difficult and maybe that’s what you’re referring to. May Allah ease your affairs for you brother. And may Allah the Most Merciful guide your parents and your family to Islam and bless you with a biiig Muslim family (kids and all) and reward you for all these years of patience. Ameen!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha naaa it’s not as difficult as it sounds. It’s pretty easy cause I am pretty used to doing things on my own (if that makes sense) a little robotic when it comes to emotions… But me and my family are pretty cool Alhamdulillah, they know I’m like that since I was a kid so they are ok with it now. The big Muslim family part might take time though…๐Ÿ˜„.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Masha’Allah! That’s really nice. ุงู„ู„ู‡ู… ุจุงุฑูƒ ู„ูƒู…. May Allah ุณุจุญุงู†ู‡ ูˆ ุชุนุงู„ู‰ keep you steadfast and grant you all that you wish and pray for. Ameen.

          Liked by 1 person

Feel free to share your thoughts! (:

